Archaeologist screening sediments at the Tuluaq Hill site in Noatak National Preserve. NPS photo.

Officer Nominations & Elections

The call for nominations for the Alaska Anthropological Association Board of Directors is now open! We are seeking organized and enthusiastic individuals who will bring innovative ideas and energy to the Association.

Five board positions including President will be open in 2021 and each position will serve a two-year term. The Board of Directors holds a regular meeting once a month and, among other duties, develops the Association’s annual budget, grants scholarships and awards, distributes the Alaska Journal of Anthropology, manages the Association website and social media, and helps to coordinate the Annual Meeting.

Please nominate yourself or any willing volunteer to serve on the board by emailing a paragraph about yourself and why you are interested in serving to: and alaskaanthrovp@gmail.comThe nomination period will close on January 15, 2021. Prior board experience is not required but nominees must be current members of the Association. You can learn more about the Board of Directors here.

Voting on board positions will take place via email from January 25-February 15, 2021. Only votes of current members will be counted. Please renew your membership prior to voting. New Board members will begin their terms in March 2021 in conjunction with the 48th Annual Meeting (#AkAA virtual 2021).

Current Association officers are:

Amy Phillips-Chan

Board Members
Samuel Coffman
Morgan Blanchard
Britteny M. Howell
Joshua Lynch
Scott Shirar

Ann Biddle

John Hemmeter – Term ends March 2021

The Board of Directors serves as the Association’s main governing body.  Board members represent the general membership by making decisions and taking actions on behalf of the Association. The Board of Directors holds a regular meeting once a month and is responsible for developing the Association’s annual budget, granting scholarships and awards, distributing the Alaska Journal of Anthropology, managing the association website and social media, and helping to coordinate the annual meeting. Other duties of  Board members include bringing to the Board’s attention issues of relevance to the Association and the anthropological community in Alaska, voting on issues that come before the Board, serving on committees that work on Association business, gathering information required for Board actions, carrying out Board actions on behalf of the Association, authorizing the expenditure of Association funds, and taking such actions as further the purposes of the Association. Board members are elected for a two-year term and may serve no more than two consecutive elected terms.