Alaska Anthropological Association Board Meeting 03 February 2012 Minutes

- **I. MEETING CALLED TO ORDER** in Anchorage at the Beatrice McDonald Hall, University of Alaska Anchorage, 12:30 pm.
- **II. PRESENT** Kerry Feldman (President), Karlene Leeper, Jenya Anichenko, Robin Mills (phone conference) and Joan Dale(phone conference) (Directors). Rita Eagle (Treasurer)
- **III. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING** (21 October 2011) were accepted with changes compiled by Kerry Feldman.

IV. ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA

A. Jenya Anichenko requests that we waive registration costs for 2 aaa annual meeting participants from Europe. Joan Dale motions that we waive registration for 2 participants to Jenya's session from Europe, Robin seconded and the motion passed.

V. REPORTS AND DISCUSSION

A. President's Report (Kerry Feldman)

- 1. 2012 Annual Meetings in Seattle: registration waivers. Ben Fitzhugh asked that registrations be waived for student volunteers, which is regular policy. He also asked that registration be waived for 3 non-student volunteers and Kerry allowed 3 waivers for non-student volunteers. This was followed by a motion to waive registration costs for up to 4 volunteers who work on the annual meetings in future years and the motion passed.
- 2. 2012 Annual Meetings in Seattle: steak dinner costs. Kerry thought that the steak dinner (\$45) was too expensive and offered a \$5.00 discount on the steak dinners, paid for by the association.

B. Financial Report (Rita Eagle)

At the time of the meeting, 131 people had registered for the annual meeting, 84 people had registered for the banquet and 77 had registered for the lunch. There is approximately \$90,000.00 in the Vanguard account. Monty Rogers mentioned that ACZ is closing its checking account. There was a discussion of marketing memberships and journals to national and international institutions that have emphases on northern and arctic studies.

C. Journal Report (Kerry Feldman for Owen Mason)

Owen would like to begin a search for a new editor. Kerry passed around a statement on requirements for the new editor. There was a discussion of how to encourage qualified people to apply. The Board selects and the President appoints the new editor. The new editor will take over in January 2013. The new editor(s) will serve for three years with an option to continue for another three years if approved of by the Board.

D. Newsletter Report (Patricia McClenahan)

No newsletter report.

E. Elections Committee

Pat McClenahan and Joan Dale serve as the elections committee. The election results were confirmed by February 8. The new board members are April Laktonen Counceller and Jeff Rasic. Joan Dale and Karlene Leeper are leaving the board each after 4 years of service.

F. Student Scholarship Committee

Jenya Anichenko and Dan Monteith serve as the student scholarship committee. The Association invites application for three annual student scholarships: the James W. VanStone Advanced Graduate award (Ph.D. level); the James W. VanStone Beginning Graduate award (M.A. level); and the John E. Lobdell Undergraduate award. Each is for \$750. No applications were received for the MA level award. However, two excellent applications were received for the PhD level award, so scholarships will be awarded to both of these applicants.

G. Association Awards for 2012

Ken Pratt and Teresa Thibault serve as the Association awards committee.

- 1. Professional Achievement Award will be given to Christy Turner, nominated by G. Richard Scott.
- 2. Outstanding contribution to the association: no nominations.
- 3. Outstanding current project: no nominations.

VI. OLD BUSINESS

A. Stefanie Ludwig Scholarship

Owen Mason and Kerry Feldman have been drafting a description for this scholarship as well as Stefanie's biography. It will be awarded to a graduate student interested in the following: geoarchaeology, collections analysis, and/or cultural resources management. The \$750.00 scholarship will be limited to the support of field and/or laboratory research on Alaska material. The scholarship can support travel for research, but not meetings or conference attendance. Some of the details need to be worked out.

B. BLM Volunteer Award Query

Mike Kunz, of the Alaska BLM, forwarded a packet to the board regarding a long-time archaeological volunteer, Bob Godsoe, who has contributed many years of effort to archaeological excavations in Alaska, Arizona, Colorado and Wyoming. Professor Marcel Kornfield of the University of Wyoming would like to present an award plaque to Mr. Godsoe on behalf of archaeological Societies in Arizona, Colorado and Wyoming and the Alaska Anthropological Association. Though we appreciate Mr. Godsoe's contributions to archaeology in the western US, the board members agreed that the association's name could not be added to the award plaque because Mr. Godsoe is not a member of the association. It seemed like it would be more appropriate for the BLM to present an award for his work in Alaska. Kerry will notify Mike Kunz of the decision.

C. Scholarship and Awards Policy Statement

Jenya and Karlene will draft a policy statement. The board should consider creating a policy regarding student scholarships; particularly the creation of new scholarships. Maybe the association needs to create an endowment from which scholarships could be awarded in a sustainable manner.

D. Annual Meetings in 2013

The annual meeting will be held in Anchorage in 2013. Aron Crowell of the Smithsonian Arctic Studies Center and Ken Pratt of the Bureau of Indian Affairs will sponsor the meetings. They are looking for additional assistance with the business and logistics aspects of the conference. Tasks include finding facilities and planning the banquet. Would anyone like to help them? Jenya volunteered.

VII. Adjournment

The board meeting was adjourned at 2:15 pm.